Sonic Offering

Earlier this month, I made it a point to discover music I somehow missed during the past two years, in hopes of discovering

something I could play while I write.

Here are four albums from last year that caught my attention this time around:

Anglagard – “Viljans Oga” (2012)
This is orchestrated progressive rock at a level not very many bands could begin to touch, let alone attempt. I’m not sure I have a place for this album during my writing sessions, but I can see me playing it during those times when I’m relaxing and letting my mind take me to my next idea.
Listen to the entire album!

Enslaved – “RIITIIR” (2012)
Doom metal? Black metal? Progressive metal? Or some combination thereof? Who cares? I enjoyed it. I would play this when writing something with mood and/or attitude.
Listen to the entire album!

Billy Talent – “Dead Silence” (2012)
Fairly straightforward music with a few interesting hooks. A lot of political and social commentary, presented in the traditional punk-esque complaints and protests. Not my usual fare, but I could see myself spinning this disc when looking to achieve an angst-esque vibe to my session.
Listen to the entire album!

Diablo Swing Orchestra – “Pandora’s Piñata” (2012)
I don’t think I would ever be able to listen to this album—or any album recorded by this band—while I’m writing. And, I mean that in the highest complimentary way possible. The use of the word ‘swing’ in their band name is merely a hint as to what you will experience. On second thought, however…I might spin this when writing in a stream-of-consciousness mode. That might be fun…!
Listen to the entire album!

Don’t forget to check out my original sonic offering post!

Enjoy!

About Steve 46th

I like creating things. I draw energy and passion from music. I enjoy solving puzzles and mysteries. I would be quite happy spending the rest of my life playing games with words for the enjoyment of others.
This entry was posted in Life in General, Music, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

